Elena in RED Contemporary classical Top composer Elena Kats-Chernin, AO creates breathtaking new work inspired by the Red Centre for Alice Springs World Chamber Orchestra

The Alice Springs World Chamber Orchestra has announced it will host a special evening
concert with world-renowned classical contemporary composer Elena Kats-Chernin AO.
Elena in Red, to be held at the Araluen Theatre on May 13, will premiere the composer’s
latest work, Red Centre.

The RED CENTRE suite for flute, clarinet and chamber orchestra was commissioned by the
ASWCO and inspired by Ms Chernin’s “anticipation of experiencing this magical mystical place in
real life, imagining what emotion might overwhelm when it happens, and trying to pre-capture that response musically”.

ASWCO artistic director and conductor Markus Kuchenbuch MA said the piece represented the
next stage in the evolution of the popular Alice Springs community-based orchestra.
Formed in 2018, the Alice Springs World Chamber Orchestra has earned a reputation performing cross cultural music in breathtaking settings throughout the Territory as an integral aspect of its identity.

The evening will also feature the premiere by Alice Springs avant-garde composers/violinists
Jon Rose and Hollis Taylor’s Bullen Road 2016 for Butcherbird, Flute and Chamber
Orchestra. Bullen Road 2016 also commissioned by ASWCO.
 “The opportunities expanding the ASWCO’s repertoire on new work by award winning
violinist and composer Jon Rose, resident of Alice Springs since 2021, is absolutely magnificent” Kuchenbuch said. Both composers will be present at Araluen Theatre for these two Australian & World premieres.

Concert date: Friday May 13, 2022, 7.30 pm
Venue: Araluen Theatre Alice Springs
Tickets: Tickets are available, from $39/25/15 at Araluen Box office, online or by phone 08 8951 1122.

Fundraising Campaign

alicewco’s final fundraising campaign is to raise funds to help document/film this once-in-a-decade live event with one of Australia’s biggest names in contemporary classical music and the Alice Springs World Chamber Orchestra.

Scroll to Top